About this trip to Singapore…

One of the best things about this trip to Singapore is stopping in my husband’s ancestral home (Japan) on the way to and from. As excited as I am to record dialects in the only country (where English is a first language) that I have yet to excavate, I am equally enamored with the intersection of English and ALL Asian languages (especially the tonal ones- music and language and dialect, Oh My!). I must admit I began that (second and forthcoming) chapter of my research, despite my self-imposed mission to collect all of the dialects of the English-speaking countries first, in the Philippines while I was pregnant. I had begun Cebu, Lapu-Lapu, Manilla, Seoul, and Hong-Kong, and had a ticket in my hand to Laos, Cambodia, and Vietnam, but I couldn’t abide the threat of a malaria-ridden mosquito biting me in my sleep and thwarting the development of my unborn child.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑